Pray for the people of Ukraine and for an end to war!
Holy Fathers
Orthodox Elders
Athonite Hermits
Icons & Frescoes
Holy Land
Monasteries, Churches
Pascha Holy Light
Monastic Obedience
Various Photos
What's Orthodoxy?
Who started it?
Is it 2000 year old,
before catholicism
and protestantism?

Athos Monks[play]
Th. Vassilikos[play]

The Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of North and South America

As mentioned earlier, the first Greek community arrived in the United States as early as 1768; and, the first Greek Orthodox parish was founded in 1864, the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese was not founded until 1922. Today, the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese is an autonomous Orthodox Church under the ecclesiastical jurisdiction of the Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople. Ten Dioceses comprise the Archdiocese. They are the dioceses of: New Jersey, Chicago, Detroit, Toronto, San Francisco, Pittsburgh, Buenos Aires, Boston, Denver and Atlanta. The leading hierarch of the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of North and South America is the Archbishop. In turn, each diocese is presided over by a bishop; together they comprise the Holy Synod of Bishops of the Archdiocese. There are over 500 parishes in the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of North and South America, almost all have as their spiritual head at least one priest who represents the bishop of his diocese at the local level. At all levels, the Greek Orthodox Church is always governed and administered cooperatively by both clergy and laity, i.e., Archdiocesan Council, Diocesan Council and Parish Council.

The Orthodox Faith Return to the first page

[ Orthodox Resources / Multimedia / Screen Savers ]
[ Bookmark / Homepage ]

Recommended books for: orthodox & non-orthodox people

Copyright © 2003 - 2022 All rights reserved.